My life after rebonding

Rebonding. If you are reading this and you are from the Philippines, then I am 100% sure you know what I am talking about.

I had my 1st rebonding experience back in 2004 (I think) when it was very expensive and very popular. From then on, I had to go back to the salon to have my regrowth rebonded.. and that went on for yeaaaaaaars (2012).

Then I realized,  will I keep my hair rebonded every time it has hair regrowing from my scalp FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE?? All those money wasted and hours spent in the salon.

I mean, yeah, it looks “perfect”. Pin straight hair, manageable,  always in place, you look lije those asian chick in that hair shampoo commercial or that actress from that show.

But you have to realize to that those people have their glamor team who fixes their hair everyday.

Me with rebonded/straightened hair

Me with rebonded/straightened hair

So I thought, why not love my natural wavy hair and instead of spending thousands of Pesos in rebonding, I should buy stuff that nourishes, moisturizes, and well, basically takes care of my hair. It was an eye opener when I started learning about heatless curls (I have a tutorial right here).

Staying away from rebonding my hair for a year has given me the freedom to do whatever I want to it. I can curl it, braid it, put it in a bun, etc.  and also, as some of you know, I color it..alot.

Having rebonded hair makes you not do those things, you can’t braid it or tie it because it might ruin it’s perfect pin straight look, you have to wait for a certain time before you color it, you have to worry about regrowth, etc.

So yea, I started buying like hair masks, argan oil, sunflower oil, coconut oil, different kinds conditioners, etc. and let my hair do its wavy thang that it usually does. And I must say, I am SUPER happy 🙂 Fine, I do use a flat iron sometimes to lightly straighten out my bangs or the top half of my hair, but I do this when my hair dried….the wrong way? (lol idk)

How my hair is now

How my hair is now

I am not against rebonding or asking people to stop it, I am just sharing my experience with it and after it 🙂

You can do whatever ya want, it’s your hair 😉

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Do you have rebonded hair?? Wanna share some experience/story? Did you stop like I did?

Let me know if you want to know how I deal with regrowth hair (like what I have right now), or any tips how to deal with hair that was rebonded a year ago (like mine haha 😉 ) 

Feel free to place your comments below 😉

Seeeee yaaaaaa :*

-Lace

Leave a comment